Safety Solutions

NEBOSH's Certificate-level as one or part of Safety Solutions

NEBOSH's Certificate-level qualifications give a good foundation in health and safety for managers, supervisors and staff with health and safety among their day to day responsibilities.

These qualifications are widely taken as a first step towards a career in health and safety and are accepted by IOSH – the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health – in meeting the academic requirements for Technical Membership of IOSH (Tech IOSH).

About exemptions

Some NEBOSH qualifications have units in common. This enables students to use the same unit 'Pass' to count towards more than one NEBOSH qualification eg, Unit NGC1 of the National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety is also a unit of the NEBOSH National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety and the NEBOSH National Certificate in Fire Safety and Risk Management.  If you hold the National General Certificate, it counts as an exemption for Unit NGC1 of both the Construction and the Fire Certificate.  The same principle applies to the international variants of the qualification where Unit IGC1 can be used as an exemption instead of Unit NGC1.  

Important information regarding exemptions:

  • For candidates using Certificate level units as an exemption - exemptions are normally valid for 5 years from their declaration date.
  • For candidates using Diploma level units or qualifications as exemption – exemptions are valid for 5 years.  Where students have completed the whole qualification, the declaration date of the whole qualification will be used.
  • The declaration date is the date printed on the unit certificate (or qualification parchment where applicable).
  • Exemption qualifying period - the examination date for the last unit of the new qualification must be within 2 or 5 years (see above) of the declaration date of the unit being used as an exemption. Any unit or qualification which falls outside of the qualifying period CANNOT be used as an exemption.

Which Certificate should I take?

Students can choose to take the examined units in any order, and will receive a certificate denoting their achievement for each unit that they pass. When all units making up the qualification have been successfully passed, the student will receive the award parchment.

The unit-based structure allows students to:

  • sit all examinations and the practical for the qualification at one sitting;
  • spread their studies over a longer period;
  • simply choose to study a single unit, for example for CPD purposes;
  • use their previous achievements to attain additional certificate level NEBOSH qualifications. Please click here for further details.



Featured Jobs

Rabigh, Makkah
Rabigh, Makkah
Faro, Yukon
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Rabigh, Makkah
Doha, Ad Dawhah
Doha, Ad Dawhah
Ontario, All
Doha, Ad Dawhah
Yanbu, Al Madinah

Safety Jobs

Oil Gas Refining Civil Construction Safety

Saudi Arabia